Comprehensive Development Plan

Comprehensive Development Plan Update

Beginning in the Fall of 2023, the City of Olean is updating its Comprehensive Development Plan (CDP). The CDP will provide an overview of the planning process and discuss the critical issues the community faces, while also identifying key assets and challenges that will lead to the long-term vision of a vital and dynamic Olean. It also will provide a blueprint for development, preservation and enhancement of residential, commercial, and industrial neighborhoods as well as public facilities, infrastructure and greenspace. The City’s last Comprehensive Plan, adopted in 2005, guided the City’s elected and appointed officials for development-related decisions and capital investment. By Fall 2024, the City of Olean Common Council will adopt a Comprehensive Development Plan to establish a shared community vision for the future and an action plan to achieve it.

The Comprehensive Development Plan (revised 10/2023) will be led by a Task Force Committee (TFC) to provide guidance for the project and help ensure that the study addresses issues relevant to the stakeholders. The TFC is composed of residents, representatives of local organizations and non-profits, and City officials. The Committee will hold meetings as needed. Membership of the committee includes:

William J. Aiello, Mayor of the City of Olean

Tom Buttafarro, Jr., St. Bonaventure University

Jeff Belt, Resident/Environmental/Business Owner

John Crawford, Olean Common Council/Higher Education/Elected

Bob Forness, Business Community (OBD)

Jennifer Forney, Olean Common Council/Higher Education/Elected

Frank Higgins, District 8 County Legislator

Adam Jester, Resident/Business Owner/Former Elected Official

Keri Kerper, Olean Community Development

Henri LaMonthe, MD, Olean General Hospital/Sustainability

Lenny Ligouri, Resident/Affordable Housing/ADA

Eric Maurouard, Olean Fire Department/Environmental

Reed McElfresh, Olean Planning Board/Conservation

Genelle Morris, Olean City School District/Diversity Representative

Destiney Portlow, Resident/Diversity Representative

Ryan Reed, Olean Code Enforcement/Housing

Ron Richardson, Olean Police Department

Zane Smith, Resident/Civic Leader/Student

Paula Snyder, Jamestown Community College

Kelly Sweet, Olean ZBA/Protection

Robert Thompson, DPW Recreation and Transportation

Meme Yanetsko, Greater Olean Area Chamber of Commerce/Business Community/Tourism